Marshall, Petchpanomrung scoop GLORY 41 performance awards

Marshall, Petchpanomrung scoop GLORY 41 performance awards

Wednesday, Jul 12 2017

D'Angelo Marshall (16-2, 9 KO's) and Petchpanomrung Kiatmookao (156-36-2, 25 KO's) were the bonus award winners at this past weekend's GLORY 41 HOLLAND event.

Marshall stormed the Heavyweight Contender Tournament with a quick stoppage of Mohammed Abdallah in the semi-finals followed by a hard-fought decision win over Anderson 'Braddock' Silva in the final.

The win moves him three places up the rankings. He now occupies the #7 slot at heavyweight and will be looking to crack the Top 5 when he has his next outing later this year.

Petchpanomrung faced Robin van Roosmalen in the co-headline fight of the GLORY 41 SUPERFIGHT SERIES card in a five-round bout for the vacant World Featherweight Championship.

Roosmalen lost the belt on a technicality when he failed to make weight at GLORY 37 LOS ANGELES but after beating Matt Embree he remained in the rankings #1 spot and the belt stayed vacant.

The former champion reclaimed his belt with a decision win over his younger Thai opponent, although the decision sparked a round of debate as to scoring, with Roosmalen's greater number of head shots being deemed more valuable than Petchpanomrung's ton of body strikes.

“...of the Night” awards are voted for by GLORY fans around the world and add an extra $5,000 to the pay-packet of the recipient fighter.

Marshall scoops 'Knockout of the Night' for his win over Abdallah and Petchpanomrung wins 'Fighter of the Night' for his performance against a vastly more experienced (in kickboxing rules) opponent.